inTank Media Baskets

glowing coral species?

akima283

I have been toying around with what direction I want my tank to go for types of coral. I decided that any coral that lights up like a firecracker under actinics will make me happy. If it doesnt glow, it goes.

I'm still a noob when it comes to identifying corals. I'm learning little by little. Soooo....my tank is a 3.5 gallon pico with LED's. Water params have been excellent except a little phosphate keeps showing up. I got some PhosGuard for that. I like how red acan and red shroomies glow, and I want to get GSP. I currently have a blue shroom, trumpet, and a florida ricordea.

What else glows, lives under LEDs, and won't sting everything in a 3.5 gallon tank?

altolamprologus

There's a pretty good article in the nov/dec 2011 issue of CORAL magazine about what pigments glow under different color lights.

here's one:

everlasting gobstopper's

like the Emeril of coral, BAM

That's what I'm talking about. Glow, baby, glow.

and I'll check out that Coral mag article as well :)

Do you want to keep SPS or LPS?

As much as I'd like to have SPS in this tank, I have learned the hard way that my LEDs don't cut it.

Just LPS and softies. Or really anything that will POP. Looking to acheive a major oooh-aaah factor.

Keep 'em coming.

One of my favorites under actinics is also one of the most common zoas there is; watermellons. The skirts are such a bright yellow under the royal blues it is crazy.

Yeah! I'm definately on board with this one! I love being able to look at my pico under the moonlights, only to see bright greens and oranges and yellows popping from across the room...

altolamprologus

I almost forgot I have 2 neon green rhodactis shrooms that glow super bright even under normal daylights. I've never been able to get a good pic because they always turn out as bright glowing blobs. They look like this (not my pic) coralie-pack-8-polyps.jpg