Coral Vue Hydros

Nano reef has not looked good since day 1

Koston

Hi everyone,

I've had a Nanocube 28g LED since probably the beginning of June or perhaps end of May last year. I have live rocks, sand, etc. I have some experience and have pretty good knowledge of care for saltwater tanks (have had a saltwater tank before this). My SG, temperature, basic parameters (nitrate, nitrite, pH, etc) are fine. I have 4 little fishies in there right now (basic fish, clown, bicolor psuedochromis, hawkfish, bicolor blenny) and a fire shrimp that are all in really good health and have had them each for a few months. They eat everyday, are not sick. I also got a rose BTA anenome who also eats and puffs up everyday, etc. But no other corals survive. SPS LPS or softies. Not even zoas or GSP or mushrooms survive and these are hardy and should not be dying and melting away. I got an elegance coral a couple weeks ago that was pretty big. It is not dead but constantly retracted and it got bleached out somehow... my LEDs are stock and he is at the bottom of the tank in soft substrate like elegance prefer. I got baby blastomussas and those are actually doing decent but theyll probably die soon too.

so thats one problem, and then I have a bigger problem. Algae. My tank has always had algae, especially algae on glass and sand. Now the green moss algae is taking over all of my live rock and the back of the tank. No matter how often I clean it within 2 days it is back. It's especially bad lately and the water quality doesn't seem great either (but today is the first day the water looks cloudy, I've always had really clear water)