SaltCritters.com

Unknown crab hitchhiker... Help identify, please?

Icewall42

Hi all,

I am new to the nano reef forums, and new to saltwater tanks in general (I have been doing freshwater for over a decade). Everything looks fabulous, no deaths, and chemistry seems to be on track. However, I just found an unknown crab in a deep cave of my live rock, which explains the mysterious molt I found and why I haven't found him till weeks after I bought the rock. I have an emerald crab, but I saw these two at the same time, no mistaking one for the other!

This guy is maybe 1" across, white with brown marbeling and brown banded legs. claw tips on the molt were black, but tips on the live crab are white. A little hairy, but not terribly. Claws look pointed, more so than the emerald (which has rounded claws). Oh, and the underside is white.

Gimme a couple seconds, and I will post a pic. I have him trapped in a shot glass right now.

WEll, since it has been in there for the past two weeks, and since I added a capnella sp. and a pachyclavularia/briareum sp., nothing has been damaged. I was worried about my fish though, since I have a Purple Firefish and a Hector's Goby that like to sit in caves, and this guy was living is a very deep cave.

I suppose I'll keep this guy in the Q-tank in a tupperware bowl, until I can take him to my LFS for an ID (or to see if they will take him, as I have no sump).

WEll, since it has been in there for the past two weeks, and since I added a capnella sp. and a pachyclavularia/briareum sp., nothing has been damaged. I was worried about my fish though, since I have a Purple Firefish and a Hector's Goby that like to sit in caves, and this guy was living is a very deep cave.

I suppose I'll keep this guy in the Q-tank in a tupperware bowl, until I can take him to my LFS for an ID (or to see if they will take him, as I have no sump).