Top Shelf Aquatics

5.5 AC 110 Pico Reef

PW7

I have been a longtime freshwater hobbyist, and i have always been interested in setting up a saltwater tank.

I have browsed these forums for what seems like years, and I have finally gotten up enough nerve to jump in.

I wanted to start small, to see if i was up for the extra work involved in keeping a salt tank. I really liked what people have done with the small space of pico tanks, so I decided to try my hand at one of them.

I chose a simple Deep Blue 5.5 gallon glass tank, that i had laying around. I purchased and modded a aquaclear 110, and I ordered a BoostLed Par 30 to light her up real nice like.

For water I just chose to use walmart pink top distilled, by the jug.

Heres a few pictures of my setup.

Just the empty tank in its new home, complete with floating light. Check my mad DIY skills.

IMG_0200.jpg

Here is the tank filled with saltwater before LR, micro bubbles galore.

IMG_0202.jpg

Here are some of the hitch hikers i spotted, before adding sand.

Limpet im told.

IMG_0209.jpg

Candy Cane ?

IMG_0206.jpg

And finally how the tank looks now. Uggghhh.... I kinda wish I would have left the glass bottom, for now anyways.

IMG_0211.jpg

Thanks for looking

Pw

Jbb_00 you were the one that convinced me to throw a AC 110 on there. I figured ah what the hell, its a big step up in space you get over the AC 70.

PW

Ok, well the sand has settled, and i was able to add some base rock to improve my scape. Here is how the tank looks now.

IMG_0227.jpg

I only have a nitrite and ph test kit at the moment, but i tested both and Nitrites were 0 and the ph was good.

I have the salinity around 1.023

Here are a few pictures, of some more hitch hikers, and a better pic of the brain coral.

Brain

IMG_0215.jpg

Second coral

IMG_0225.jpg

Other thing

IMG_0226.jpg

Pw