ReefCleaners.org

~~~~ Filter Socks ~~~~

gupebreedr

Okay gang, in need of a little help please. I'm a noob when it comes to using filter socks and was wondering how you all clean yours? I've read a where some peeps wash them in the washing machine with an extra rinse cycle, any other ways these can be cleaned safely? Is there a suggested life span on them? Lastly, how often do you change them, I'm swapping mine out twice a week?

Thanks in advance for your valued assistance.

Rob

US Marine Coral

I swap mine out every 3-4 days or right before the water level gets to the top of the sock. I remove it then turn it inside out and keep it soaking in a 5g bucket with 1:4 ratio of bleech to water. After I get 6 socks in the bucket I will throw them in the washer, add 1 cup of vinegar and do an a extra rinse cycle. I then let them air dry for 2 days and they are good to go. I replace them when they start to come apart which is usually after 4-5 months.

I swap mine out every 3-4 days or right before the water level gets to the top of the sock. I remove it then turn it inside out and keep it soaking in a 5g bucket with 1:4 ratio of bleech to water. After I get 6 socks in the bucket I will throw them in the washer, add 1 cup of vinegar and do an a extra rinse cycle. I then let them air dry for 2 days and they are good to go. I replace them when they start to come apart which is usually after 4-5 months.

Thank you for your help, tis greatly appreciated. So it really is okay to wash them in your washer. I was concerned that there may be residual detergent in the machine that may contaminate the socks. Will give it a shot. I have my extra's soaking in bleach as we speak.

Thanks again, I knew someone here would help. :) :) :)

Rob

I change mine every 3-4 days. I just rinse them out in the sink. I flip them inside out and use the spray nozzle directly on the bag. Flip over and rinse the other side. Then I let them air dry until the fresh one in the tank gets dirty.