Top Shelf Aquatics

Aiptasia and Lemon Juice

patrickf

I have read alot of the threads on killing aiptasia and have seen some people recomend near boiling tank water and also trying lemon juice. Has anyone tried to boil the lemon juice? Do I have to inject it into the aiptasia or just soak it and the rock around it? Thanks for any insight.

Honestly using anything that doesn't keep the aptasia from relesting its spores(think they are gambiots or something) isn't gonna do much but make more aptasia all over the tank. I use aptasia X and it works well, if there is a persistant one I add a little hydrogen peroxide to the mix.

Super Glue Gel.

No injecting, no boiling water, no having to find syringes ...lol

If you can easily reach them, just seal them in their holes.

$3 at CVS for 3-4 little tubes. Save the rest for gluing frags.

Sorry, i am a noob here. Just stick the superglue in the tank and fill the hole?

Super Glue Gel.

surgicalsense
Super Glue Gel.

:P

Sorry, i am a noob here. Just stick the superglue in the tank and fill the hole?

Yep. Just be neat about it. I poke in the center, when it retracts ... glue them in.

Give the glue a sec or two or five to "skin over" and carefully move on to the next.

I have read alot of the threads on killing aiptasia and have seen some people recomend near boiling tank water and also trying lemon juice. Has anyone tried to boil the lemon juice? Do I have to inject it into the aiptasia or just soak it and the rock around it? Thanks for any insight.

You can get a syringe at any pharmacy, no need to boil the lemon juice just get a syringe full and jab the aiptasia with it. I recently had a few hitchhike on some new rock and the lemon juice worked great, I thought about using glue to cover the holes but didn't like the idea of it being able to release new spores that could escape or get elsewhere in my rock

Super Glue Gel.

When super gluing the aptasias in their holes, do you super glue under water?