ReefCleaners.org

New guy here...

solefald

Hello,

New guy here. I've been drooling over reef tanks for a long time, and I believe I finally have the means, time and patience to start one of my own. I have some prior experience with fresh water tanks (long time ago), and for the past 2 years i've been keeping a pair of ribbed newts in a 10G tank. They laid a gazillion of eggs recently, so I moved the adult ones into a new 20G and planning on re-using 10G as a reef tank as soon as I sell/give away baby newts (probably in about a month or so).

Is there anything special I need to do before using old newt tank for SW? I am planning on giving it a complete wash to get rid of some algae currently growing on the walls, getting rid of the mechanical filter currently in it

and converting the 18" 15W fluorescent light to something more suitable for a reef.

I would like to try the natural filtration method and just use powerhead(s) (or do I still need a filter of some sort?). However, being a nerd, I would like got get some kind of controller or a similar device down the road. Not because I am lazy, but because I love graphing all sort of things and and devices that let me extract data and make pretty graphs have a great appeal to me. As I said, I am a nerd.

Also, a friend of mine is an avid reefer with multiple large tanks, so I am hoping to get some help from him in addition to the wealth of information these forums and internet in general offer.

Is there anything special I need to do before using old newt tank for SW? I am planning on giving it a complete wash to get rid of some algae currently growing on the walls, getting rid of the mechanical filter currently in it

and converting the 18" 15W fluorescent light to something more suitable for a reef.