Cultivated Reef

When cycling my tank...?

chabooky386

When cycling my tank the lights don't have to be on right? I am just putting in 30lbs of BRS rock in my tank and that's it. I am quite new to this so I was wondering how long would a "good" cycle be? 3 weeks ok?

snowflake ell
When cycling my tank the lights don't have to be on right? I am just putting in 30lbs of BRS rock in my tank and that's it. I am quite new to this so I was wondering how long would a "good" cycle be? 3 weeks ok?

your lights should be on when cycling your tank . its not about how long your tank cycles for but its about your parameters are . put a dead peace of shrimp into your tank to help cycle your tank

I'd go to my LFS and buy a small piece of live rock to start your cycle and also ask for a scoop of live sand (most LFS will happily do this for you). I wouldn't recommend cycling with fish and/or shrimp to rot in your tank.

You can also keep your lights off during your cycle...there is no need for them to be on. The "general" timeframe is about a month--but you would need to test your parameters to confirm...

Sure, ya can do no lights.

Using dry rock or LR? Dry rock may need a "kick start" (like rbaby said) to induce a cycle.

When Amm, Trites have spiked and then reached zero. Trates will be high and you'll see a diatom bloom that will go away on it's own to be replaced by some GHA. At this point, do a good sized WC with RO/DI water, wait a couple days, test the Amm, Trites and Trates ... all need to be ZERO.

After that, your good for a CUC.

A basic API test kid is your best friend for the next 6-12 months.

Another method is "Cycling with Ammonia" , but that's a little beyond for now.

Sure, ya can do no lights.

Using dry rock or LR? Dry rock may need a "kick start" (like rbaby said) to induce a cycle.