Cultivated Reef

Starting 21.97G Nano

Beano1169

Hey there all your reefheads! I have just started getting into SW and Im hoping to attain a little information about how to go about creating the best tank for the littlest amount of cash. I am a university student so Im low on cash, haha.

Here a few concerns about my set up at the moment:

1) List of parts:

Moded AC 110 HOB 550 Gph - Refugium

Koralia Power head Nano 240 Gph

24" Odyssea MH T5 Led 346W lighting system.

Tank - 23.6" L x 13.7" W x 15.7" H = 21.97 Us Gallons

(on the way) Finnex 100W heater & Hanging light kit ( was told lights might burn coral if too close)

2) The Questions:

I am curious if this at the moment would be enough for me to start my cycle? and also my tank is only 1/4" thick glass is this too thin for salt water seeing as how I will be messing with SG ( specific gravity)?

I am thinking about Creating a PVC DIY overflow into a 20 gallon sump or a 10 Gallon sump, with some sort of moded refugium thats a bit bigger than the AC 110, if I do this what other parts would I need? and will it cause to much stress on my 1/4" thick glass?

Thanks for your input if you are able, I have been researching for a few months on what to do and how to cycle but I am worried my tank might not stand up to the challenge.

This may be dumb but do I really need a skimmer to be able to keep corals?? If so where is the best place to get em cheap and those that are efficient.

1/4" is fine. You could start the cycle with it but you'll still need the sand and rock (sand is cheap, check Craigslist for rock)

For the sump you'll need the overflow, outer box, hard of soft drain and return tubing, another tank, baffles, silicone, a light for the fuge, return pump, skimmer, live sand, or mud for refuge, macro algae, LR rubble, and the return nozzle.

Is the tank rimless? If not than you don't have to worry about the stress on it.