ReefCleaners.org

dtum's JBJ 28g Nanocube LED

dtum

Up-to-date List of Aquarium's Fish and Corals

Having kept fish for 10+ years, enjoying cichlid and planted tanks I ended up with a nice 10 gallon rimless sapphire tank that I decided to setup as a saltwater nano reef.

AquaticLog timeline for my diary contains detailed information on dosing, water changes, maintenance, stock additions and parameter testing.

You can view my diary here.

I've lost a firefish and a clown and can definitely see that this is not enough to host everything that I want to keep in my tank for the next few years. So after some research I've decided to try an all-in-one tank. I wanted an all in one, since I am fairly new to the hobby and don't know exactly the dimensions and other particulars of the tank that I'd want to be stuck with for many years. So the idea here is to get a decent all around tank.

I set my goals on a 20 to 30 gallons, did not want anything bigger because of the bigger water changes, anything smaller would get me too close to my 10 gallon which is already enough. I've really liked the 22 gallon Cadlights, but being in Canada I did not want to order things online. Also was not too thrilled with their current LED offering. Biocube looks great, but HQi is too hot and CF is not enough light. I also do find it to be too short. Solana seemed great, but not easily available in Canada, also much more money for proper lighting.

So I ended up choosing the JBJ 28 gallon Nanocube LED Advanced. That seemed to hit the spot.

My goal here is to have enough fun for the next five years in learning about saltwater fish and corals, challenge myself in keeping a complex eco system, teach myself some patience and get to enjoy the beauty of the aquatic life.

I would like to keep a variety of soft corals, LPS and some SPS.

As for the fish I would like:

a) clown fish (false or true)

B) firefish goby

c) six-line wrasse

d) royal gramma

e) yellow watchman + pistol shrimp