SaltCritters.com

Dan's RSM 130D

Dan.

Hi everyone,

I have ordered a RSM 130D in Black that will hopefully be with me this time next week! :D

I have been reading many threads on Nano-reef and thought I would document my progress on here to both help me keep track of how my tank is progressing, and to also show my mistakes so that new RSM owners do not do the same!

I currently have a 180L bowfront tank which I have had some success with, but it is not what I want it to be. I will therefore be transferring my Live Rock, 2 black and white clownfish and all of my LPS and SPS corals to the new tank over the course of the next couple of weeks if all goes to plan.

As the tank is 23" high, or at least that is what Red Sea claim on their website, I will be drilling my Live Rock and using acrylic rods and epo putty to gain height and stability. I have never done this before, so should be interesting, but I will post pictures when I get around to doing it!

For flow I have a Vortech MP10w ES that I plan on putting on the top right of the back wall. I have seen others who have done this so it must be possible. I think that this should give adequate flow, and leave little dead spots.

I also plan to move my Tunze Osmolator over to the new tank, providing I can find a place where I can put it.

Any comments, criticism and help will be most appreciated! If I can make my tank look half as good as some of them on here then I will over the moon! :)

Ps, If any RSM 130D owners on here read this and get the chance, it would be most appreciated if they could note on here the actual dimensions of the glass part of the tank, excluding the chambers at the back!

Congrats on the RSM! I just got one myself and I love it. The dimentions are on their website along with a little video.

Try some creative scaping, its quite fun and not that hard.

Check out EZ's thread, he just made one for the first time and it came out great. Also, check out my thread, I made one too.