SaltCritters.com

2G Fluval Spec Pico

Cooperstown07

Cooperstown07

Hi all, first time posting here. A little background on me, many years ago when I was attending college I kept several tanks. I had a 120 gallon shark only tank for a few years and when I graduated I sold the not so little guy back to the LFS and subsequently sold the tank and equipment as well.

I also had a 55 gallon Fish Only tank with various damsels, clownfish, tangs and a Queen Angel during college as well as a 30 gallon reef tank. The 30 gallon reef ran for almost three years before graduation and it was unique in that I installed a plenum filtration system in it using the whole egg crate/pvc materials. That reef tank ran for over 2 years WITH NO FILTER, NO SKIMMER, AND NO WATER CHANGES. That's right, not one water change, just topped off with freshwater on occasion. I wouldn't recommend doing that, but I was in college and had other things to drink.

Now to the topic in hand, my daughter just turned 4 and for her birthday Grandma got her a Fluval Spec 2 gallon. My first thought was to put a goldfish in there for her and let her go to town.....but it has been so long since I have had a marine tank (about 15 years) that the little built in filtration/sump compartment was begging to be set up as a marine tank. I had heard of nano tanks before I quit the hobby, but during my absence pico tanks became popular (less than 5 gallons?) and so here I am.

A little nervous as I have never kept a marine tank this small and I understand the smaller water volume can change things quickly theory. But I am going to try it and have purchased the following equipment:

Hydor 400 Pico Pump (100 GPH) - to upgrade from the stock 40GPH pump

25W Theo Heater

Nano Mag Cleaner

Thermometer

Deep Six Hydrometer

Test Kits

ChemiPure