Pod Your Reef

Dirty Joe's 28 Gallons of Magic

Joe Dirt

• Replies 877
  • Created
  • Last Reply

In the beginning...

I'm pretty new to the saltwater tank but I've been doing a lot of research over the last few months and I started my first tank on 07/07/11. The wife and I have wanted a saltwater tank for years now. So when my kids started asking or a dog, Nemo served as a great distraction. I scored a brand new 28G JBJ Nano Cube CF with the unassembled stand on Craigslist for $300. This is what started this addiction; corals are what have sealed the deal. I cycled the tank with LR from various locations (never doing that again), 30 pounds of Caribsea Fiji Pink, and 5 gallons of SW from an established and trusted tank. The remainder of the SW was new. The tank cycled really fast in about a week. I then added my CUC and they were quite happy. I had an impulse buy, against my better judgement, and bought a Six Line Wrasse a little prematurely. The fish is doing well and the tank is really coming along nicely. Last weekend I went and drove to meet Pickle010 and bought a pair of Black Ice Snowflake Clownfish. They are about 4 months old and are absolutely beautiful! They are currently in my quarantine tank for observation. I also bought some corals which are also in the quarantine tank. I plan to have mostly LPS, but I hope to get some SPS in the future once I get this dosing stuff down. I am also going to convert my hood over to the Nanotuners LED kit before I put my corals in there. I am really enjoying this hobby more than any other I've ever had. I find it very rewarding and therapeutic almost. I welcome people's help along the ways as well as constructive criticism. Thanks to everyone that has helped so far and I'm glad to be part of this great community.

• Display Tank Equipment

JBJ 28G Nano Cube CF Quad (converted to DIY LED)

Ecotech Vortech MP10w ES

Jager 100W Heater

in Tank Media Basket with BRS GFO and ROX 0.8

Aquamaxx HOB-1 Skimmer