SaltCritters.com

She's topless!

Wet_Fretboards

Wet_Fretboards

I quickly grew tired of the top on my Fluval EDGE, and decided to remove it. Here is what I did.

Before I removed the top glass I wanted to make sure I had a lighting arrangement that I could implement at least for a while. I went to Lowes and grabbed a stick of PVC, a couple of elbows, and a cap.

IMG_20110726_091112.jpg

Here is what I came up with. This'll work just fine. :D

IMG_20110726_093755.jpg

I mounted It to the original Fluval base using conduit straps and screws.

IMG_20110726_093747.jpg

So, I siphoned down, and removed the top with a razor blade. Anyone wanna guess what that is on the glass?

IMG_20110726_094629.jpg

Ouch! :P It's OK, I'm a paramedic... HAHA.

IMG_20110726_094641.jpg

Anyway, back to it, and this is the result.

IMG_20110726_111947.jpg

IMG_20110726_111937.jpg

IMG_20110726_113514.jpg

And a video for the shimmer effect that makes a reef tank IMO.

Well, that's all for now. Thanks for watching!

Randy

Not gonna lie, I was a little disappointed by your pictures. I was expecting something else :naughtydance:

But seriously, it looks good.

digitalfreq

I considered doing this as well. But I opted to buy a bigger AIO tank and sold the Edge.

What are you using for lighting?

Looks great! Good job!

looks good.. now is there a way to stop my cat from grabbing a snack? :) the girlfriend would kill me if i made her go topless...

But When i get the proper light setup my 40b will be going topless

Wet_Fretboards
I considered doing this as well. But I opted to buy a bigger AIO tank and sold the Edge.

What are you using for lighting?

Looks great! Good job!

I took the light "arm" apart and made some mounts inside the top piece to mount the fixture to. I didn't get too permanent because I may be adding more shortly.

IMG_20110726_123357.jpg

IMG_20110726_123305.jpg

Wet_Fretboards
looks much better without the top on. It will be so much easier for you now.

Good job.