Cultivated Reef

101g LOOOONG

Polscot

so i finally decided to get into the big boy tanks after 3 years of nanos. i plan to make it a FOWLR for a dogface and porkey and maybe a few others (aggressive fish only) but ill have proper lighting to promote coraline

i placed an order for a 101 gallon Long tank its 72x18x18 custom, ill have to drill it myself and this is my first time making a sump tank the sump will be 48x14sx14 with a 20g refugium and also inside the stand will be a 10g ATO system i plan on feeding with a float switch and water mover

tank arrives next week so i started on the stand its overkill but id rather be safe then sorrty

material list

5- 2x4 10'

1- plywood sheet hella sanded (pine)

and 1 nice pine sheet for the sides

the top and bottom supports

post-53335-1304022747_thumb.jpg

post-53335-1304022756_thumb.jpg

the pine side sheets

post-53335-1304022762_thumb.jpg

starting to come together

post-53335-1304022769_thumb.jpg

sides on

post-53335-1304022775_thumb.jpg

post-53335-1304022781_thumb.jpg

front

post-53335-1304022788_thumb.jpg

if you knowtise theres no doors on the front im going to make a bracket so that the whole sheet slides up giving access to the entire sump area for if need be, i hate reaching in through doors

once i get the door mounted ill work on the mouldings and making it look good,

what do you think?

with the tank i plan to have 2 small islands one that comes out of the tank with a waterfall comeing down it (inspired by the volcano tank)

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well whatever, it looks sweet so far!

Your stand build reminds me of mine, check out my sig for another idea for your 'door'. Mine hangs on with some lag bolts and wing nuts, takes 5 seconds to take it on and off, I love it.

Are you going to keep the stand trimless like that? I know I would!