thecowkid

BEWARE of Reef scavengers

82 posts in this topic

I was interested in hearing if this is a rare case or just usual business practice.

 

I placed an order on the Feb 15. Informed that order would be processed and shipped within two days. Obviously those two days have come and gone a few times over. I've sent an email 2 days ago requesting order status and shipping tracking info. No response even though the web site says all emails will be responded to within 48 hrs. No luck there either.

 

Whats ya'll thoughts?

Edited by thecowkid

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

anyone. No customer relations here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

if you were buying a clean up crew you should have went with reefcleaners great company to do business with, and I wont look anywhere else for my clean up crew needs.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know. But a friend had credit with RS so he wanted to use that first. John is top dog with his cuc's. I've ordered from him many times and have been nothing but pleased with the transactions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I ordered from them a long time ago when I first got into the hobby. I had a few things doa and they never helped me out. They basically pretended my emails weren't there.

 

I was recommended to them from a friend who had great customer service with them. Apparently they went under new ownership and haven't been the same since.

 

That's my experience with them anyway... :unsure:

Edited by Justind823

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hum. Good to know. I just got an email from them stating they didnt wanna send orders up north due to cold temps this week. Last week it was in the 70's when I placed the orders. It was in the 60's Monday and Tuesday this week. I call BS. Someone needs to check the weather b4 they reply. This will be my last order and I have yet to recieve the stuff.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Finally got a bs reply

 

 

---------- Original Message ----------

From: "ReefScavengers.Com" <orders@reefscavengers.com>

To: <rc10t2@juno.com>

Subject: Re:

Date: Thu, 24 Feb 2011 13:46:12 -0400

 

Joshua,

 

Thank you for contacting us. Our apologies for the delay, we did not

want to ship up north this week due to the cold temperatures, to avoid

unnecessary livestock losses. We will get your order out early next

week. You will receive an email with tracking number on the day it

ships.

 

Thank you for your patience and cooperation

 

My reply

Thank you for the reply. I understand the concerns of shipping in cold weather. On the other side of the situation KY, Tenn, southern Ind, and Ohio didnt see any cold temps around the order time. Last week it was in the 70's when I placed the orders. It was in the 60's Monday and Tuesday this week. Next week will be colder than the present day temps. Thus presenting more concerns. If you had no intentions of shipping the order and knew this. Then it would have been nice to at least recieved an email explaining the concerns you were having and what actions you were planning on taking and when. You have to see my concern. The funds charged for the order were removed from my acct on the 16th. Less than 24 hours after placing the order. Eight days later, following two e-mails I get a response trying to explain the lack of shipping. In conclusion I ask you what if any thing will be done to rectify the problems. Free shipping, discounts, would be appreciated. All of the concerns that I have are enough to make one want to cancel the order. I will not do this. In respect to you. Thus allowing you to make the situation right.

 

Thank you

Joshua Pickett

Aquatic Acrylic Works

Edited by thecowkid

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Believe it or not RS.com has yet to reply to the above email. I've sent it two them twice. Just from their lack of concern I STRONGLY advise everyone to go any other place to conduct their business.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tend to agree with you on your situation. I don't think the vendor is really at FAULT for anything other then piss poor communication.

 

I do see the concerns about the livestock.. but a simple email would solve the issue..

 

A side note - It may have been out of stock and they were reluctant to let you know and had you order anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I tend to agree with you on your situation. I don't think the vendor is really at FAULT for anything other then piss poor communication.

 

I do see the concerns about the livestock.. but a simple email would solve the issue..

 

A side note - It may have been out of stock and they were reluctant to let you know and had you order anyway.

 

Either way...as you said a simple email would have solved the issue. Now they are not replying at all. I believe it may be time to email them a link to this thread. What do you think. Wait and see, or email it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They sound scummy. I've seen some bad reviews on here about them

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just can not understand in this day and age of technology, a seller that does not communicate with the buyer. Unfortunately, I think this happens way too often. As a matter of fact, I read here on N-R where buyers get no communication from sellers. It happened to me with a N-R sponsor recently, but I'm not gonna name names.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I feel the same way. I may be a bit slow to reply to a request. But once $$ has exchanged hands. I am all for the customer. Business today is scary enough, but factor in business over the web.. Communication is number one. It is inexcusable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i think you do need to name names. bad business is bad business in a free capitalist society, regardless if you give money to this forum. if you don't please the customer, everyone should know. Better business?

 

sorry back on topic.

 

I thank cow for this post, because i was liking the prices and they have some things that RC doesn't have. shame but i refuse to do business with a small company who only ships online, meaning they don't have a shop to deal with on top of web orders, only overhead is email..........................use it.................

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I thank cow for this post, because i was liking the prices and they have some things that RC doesn't have. shame but i refuse to do business with a small company who only ships online, meaning they don't have a shop to deal with on top of web orders, only overhead is email..........................use it.................

 

 

Glad to help.

....................Hey I only do online business. I dont have a store..... :P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For what it's worth, I had an order for last week also, which was going to ship on Monday. The company called and said they would not be shipping because of the cold and ended up shipping on Thursday for Friday. Different company, but saltwater stock.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I tend to agree with you on your situation. I don't think the vendor is really at FAULT for anything other then piss poor communication.

 

I do see the concerns about the livestock.. but a simple email would solve the issue..

 

A side note - It may have been out of stock and they were reluctant to let you know and had you order anyway.

 

 

Sorry, but that's ridiculous. There's no room for any sympathy for this retailer in this situation. They were eager enough to promptly take his money, but don't have time or common courtesy to respond to email??? BOYCOTT, I SAY!!!

By god, if it's good enough for Egypt, it's good enough for me!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep I used paypal. But paypal from my back acct. So for some reason they history isnt showing anything. I could be fu(ked.

 

Start the boycott

Edited by thecowkid

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you used paypall can't u file a complaint and get your money refunded?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
If you used paypall can't u file a complaint and get your money refunded?

weird stuff happens :wacko:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

errors, withdrawals, mysterious disappearance of said person...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now