Cultivated Reef

Solana Advice Needed

gas7057

Okay so about a year ago I bought a 34g Solana from a coworker who had let the thing turn into an algae infested mess (I mean really bad). I have no prior reef keeping experience but have done a pretty good job getting this thing healthy again. I have been prowling Nano-Reef the whole time getting little nuggets here and there. Right now all my equipment is stock and I have a 150W Sunpod. I just put a new 14K Phoenix in it on Saturday. I tossed my bio-balls in the trash about 2 months ago. Currently I'm using cheap carbon in Chamber 2 but I just ordered the new inTank Solana media basket, Chemipure, and Purigen. I've been doing water changes about every 2 weeks with premixed Salt/RO/DI from my LFS for about $1.25/gallon. I have been using a 3 day rotating dosing schedule using Seachem Aquavitro 8.4, Fuel, and Calcification. I test weekly for Nitrate, Phosphate, KH, and pH with API kits and CA with Salifert. My livestock consists of a clown pair, watchman goby, bagaii cardinal, dersa clam (I think), coral banded shrimp, and CUC. So my question is where do I go next? I still have green hair algae. Not terrible, but its there and I want that @#$! gone. Should my next investment be on additional flow like a Hydor Koralia. Maybe an ATO or maybe I should upgrade by testing protocol to Hanna meters or similar. Am I even dosing the right stuff?

Thanks for the input

post-62939-1298311585_thumb.jpg

i would check the RO/DI water your getting from your LFS. its supposed to read 000 TDS but i know sometimes it comes out a little different than that.

if that's not the problem i would check how much/often your feeding.

and if all of those are in line you can always get a TLF Phosban reactor and throw GFO in there.(just a band-aid thought)

but the excess nutrients are coming from somewhere. and your tests will typically be 0 because the GHA is sucking up those nutrients.