ReefCleaners.org

BC 29 Craigslist Special

drewbold

I just picked up this BC 29 and stand for $75 on craigslist. Such a great deal I couldn't pass it up.

The tank was previously set up as a SW tank but has been empty with dried sand at the bottum for a few months.

I got all the sand out and i filled it up in the tub, where it currently sits filled with tap water for the leak test which it seems fine. I was thinking this would be a good place to finish cleaning it up.

My questions are since the glass is very dirty with old algae. What can I do to clean it besides just scrub?

I have heard to use baking soda? and or a vinegar solution of some sort (if so how much)?

As I am a noob and this will be my first real SW tank I wasn't sure if either or both of these would be safe to use?

Thanks to anyone and everyone that helps, I'm really not sure what to do next.

post-64401-1298245425_thumb.jpg

post-64401-1298245438_thumb.jpg

Welcome to the BC club. White vinegar would be the best. Any ratio would be fine, doesn't need to be anything crazy. Read the biocube resource guide under the All In One section and read through other members biocube's threads. Ask any questions you have to see what people have done or what they wish they would have done.

Go slow and research as much as you can. Patience is key and will save you lots of money in the end.

I just picked up this BC 29 and stand for $75 on craigslist. Such a great deal I couldn't pass it up.

The tank was previously set up as a SW tank but has been empty with dried sand at the bottum for a few months.

I got all the sand out and i filled it up in the tub, where it currently sits filled with tap water for the leak test which it seems fine. I was thinking this would be a good place to finish cleaning it up.

My questions are since the glass is very dirty with old algae. What can I do to clean it besides just scrub?

I have heard to use baking soda? and or a vinegar solution of some sort (if so how much)?