Pod Your Reef

BC 29 Heater Gets Submerged in Chamber 3

Gr8_Outdoorsman

Gr8_Outdoorsman

I have a BC 29 with the inTank media rack and fuge in chamber 2, the AquaticLife skimmer in chamber 1 and a 100W Fluval heater in chamber 3.

I've read that most people shut off their pumps when they feed their fish. My problem is that when I shut off my pumps/powerheads, the water level quickly rises in chambers 2 and 3 to stabilize. If I didn't pull the heater out, the water level would certainly go over the top of the heater completely submerging it.

How do you handle this? Is the heater completely sealed?

It seems like this is a very common setup, but I don't want to risk the heater shorting out and frying my tank.

Thank you for your advice!

Gr8_Outdoorsman
buy a fully submersible heater......seriously though, you should

Any suggestions? I'm kind of new to this and haven't seen any that were fully submersible.

Any suggestions? I'm kind of new to this and haven't seen any that were fully submersible.

if yours is the one w the little LED screen on front then i believe it is fully submersible. and it should say right on the package too

Gr8_Outdoorsman

Mine is the silver glass one with water lines on the side of it. I will look for a fully submersible one now. Dangit, it sounds like I wasted my money on this one! Oh well....

I have a BC 29 with the inTank media rack and fuge in chamber 2, the AquaticLife skimmer in chamber 1 and a 100W Fluval heater in chamber 3.

I've read that most people shut off their pumps when they feed their fish. My problem is that when I shut off my pumps/powerheads, the water level quickly rises in chambers 2 and 3 to stabilize. If I didn't pull the heater out, the water level would certainly go over the top of the heater completely submerging it.

How do you handle this? Is the heater completely sealed?

It seems like this is a very common setup, but I don't want to risk the heater shorting out and frying my tank.