Cultivated Reef

1/2 Gal Pico Idea, would it be possible?

vipersnake

Hello Guys, this is my first time posting but ive been reading posts like for ever :)

now while i was watching some of the pico pics you guys have in the posts while at work.. i started looking at my Programming Buddy... my Betta and noticed that his aquarium migth be able to become a nice pico.

would a tank this small would be able to become a pico or am i just fantasizing.

the tank is 5.5 x 5.5 x5.5inches here is a pic

oFj90l.jpg

so what you think guys?? i was thinking maybe using an aquaclear 20?? ( i havent acutally seen how big this filter is but my guess is that it has to be arround 5inches wide by 5 talll)

Welcome.

Any size tank can be a pico. The thing I would watch out for is the material the tank is made of. If it is just a plastic tank cleaning it will be a pain and most likely scratch the heck out of it. Also, with a tank that small you will have to stay on top of parameter swings and probably have to topoff once or twice a day. Just some things to think about.

Thanks for the welcome :P

jum interesting topping off water and parameters ownt be a problem... it will be sitting in my desk at work so ill see it everyday .. well exept on weekeds... ouch, i just ordered a aquaclear 30, lets see when it comes how bit it is and see if its Betta Tank compatible. if it is i think ill start this pico, problem will be getting the corals... over here in PR they are expensive! and even if the pet shop had some accidental frags they would charge you the cost of the mother coral minus 5 bucks...... lol. anyone knows where i can get some nice LEDS to build this thing some lights?