Cultivated Reef

How long have your Pico reefs been up?

NUWildcat928

Hey,

I'm fairly new to reefing - my girlfriend introduced it to me about a year ago and I've been reading up ever since. I would like to start a reef of my own, but due to space limitations I think a pico tank would work best, at least for now.

My biggest concern is: How long have your pico tanks been up? Seems like quite a few pico setups on here don't last longer than a few months. Anyone have a pico tank lasting a year or longer?

Mr. Microscope

age.png

Started 2009.10.31

I know many have been up at least a year. El Fab just took his down and it was up for 3+ years.

Check out the life in these picos by Brandon429. They've been going for years!

Mine has only been up about 8 months, but I plan on running it for at least a few years.

I don't think it's that pico reefs cannot last it's that people either grow tired of the novelty or move onto bigger and better things. Sure you can do it pretty affordable but after a while you get tired of topping off the water manually, dosing chemicals and whatnot and while you can automate these things on such a small scale a lot of people don't want to spend the money when for the same costs they could automate them on a larger scale.

That's just a theory though I'm still newish to pico's so I don't really know what I'm talking about.

Mine has only been up about 8 months, but I plan on running it for at least a few years.

I don't think it's that pico reefs cannot last it's that people either grow tired of the novelty or move onto bigger and better things. Sure you can do it pretty affordable but after a while you get tired of topping off the water manually, dosing chemicals and whatnot and while you can automate these things on such a small scale a lot of people don't want to spend the money when for the same costs they could automate them on a larger scale.