Coral Vue Hydros

Large Rimless Build

TinyGiant

I would like to build a tank that is 8ftx 2ftx 1.5ft comes out to roughly 180g

I was curious if a build of this size would be okay with a rimless setup...

also what thickness glass i should consider using?

the other option is to just use a regular standard 180.. but i would love to have a super long shallow tank (for enjoyment and propagating corals in my finished basement )

8ft of glass and rimless seems like a disaster waiting to happen. i would at least euro brace it

or the glass needs to be so thick its going to be ridiculously expensive

8ft of glass and rimless seems like a disaster waiting to happen. i would at least euro brace it

or the glass needs to be so thick its going to be ridiculously expensive

x eleventy billion, I'm not an expert but I agree

what about bracing it inside teh tank... like running a 4" strip of 8ft glass along the bottom middle of the tank ? would that help.. i could always build the rock around it

There are two structual issues to consider:

1) The bottom will be big, so if it will only be supported around the edges (raised floor) then the bottom will need to be thick enough to avoid sagging, or be supported underneath by a solid flat stand (with a thin foam pad on it) like an acrylic tank. So either build an appropriate stand and avoid a raised floor, or find out how thick the glass is on the bottom of a non-tempered glass tank with a 2' x (4' or larger) bottom, and use glass that thick.