inTank Media Baskets

Cycle phase

digihang

Hi, I'm new to this hobby and I think I did something bad to my 20gal tank while its at the very beginning of the cycling phase.

During the cycling phase, I have my cured live rocks and everything in it, the chemistry in the tank is not starting cause I test for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate and all of it are zero. So I add fish food(marine S)to produce ammonia therefore thinking the bacterias will form on the rock. But I added half of the bag since the fish food is going to be expired next month as stated on the back of the product, and now I can smell the ammonia from my room. I am not sure if this is bad or good...will this speed up the process? thanks very much

Half of the bag seems very much. If it were me i would just start over. Take most of the water out and do a big water change. Also make sure you get all the fish food out.

If you started with cured rock then your tank will have what's called a soft cycle. This is a good thing and as long as you take it slow adding cuc and other livestock then you won't notice any big spikes in your tests.

As far as adding half a bag of food to the tank. I would imagine this is going to cause a huge increase in bacteria in your tank followed by another big die off when food runs out followed by another increase etc. In a sense your system is going to swing back and fourth who knows how many times.

If I were you I would either try to syphon as much of the food out of your tank as possible then do a water change of either 50% or more and then leave it alone for a few weeks and let it cycle for however long it takes. Test often and don't add any livestock untill it is stable. If you have livestock in there now get it out ASAP.

Use the next few weeks to research and ask questions. In this hobby the most important thing is to take things slow.

Good luck.