Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Ready to throw in the towel. Algae winning

Derekcaudill

Alright guys, any last suggestions before I push this tank out the window? I have been fighting GHA for almost 10 months now in my BC29. Weekly water changes from 5-10 gallons. Manual removal. 20 plus blue leg crabs, 1 emerald, 20 plus turbos. New bulbs on 6 1/2 hours daily with timer. Protein skimmer aquatic life 115. Daily water top offs. Nearly starving my fish from food. Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 5, Ph 8.2-8.4, daily dosing with reef fusion 1 and reef fusion 2 for calcium and alk stability. Media rack with Chemi Pure Elite and floss. WTF am I doing wrong here?

burtbollinger

Water quality needs to be looked into...I think you have way too many snails. Are snails dying in there, btw?

You also need to pick up an inexpensive Media reactor...bulk reef supply makes one....and inside that reactor, you will want to run GFO.

Keep in mind, you will be doing manual removal during this time as well.

also, please dont starve the fish...they should be fed daily.

TRy raising your magnesium to 1600-1800. I know Mg is mainly used for bryopsis, but I had good success using it against hair algae as well. After 3-4 days you can usually see the hair algae weekening.

OClownsandNanos
Water quality needs to be looked into...I think you have way too many snails. Are snails dying in there, btw?

+1 I also think you have too many crabs in there. I've got between 8-10 hermits (scarlet and blue) in my 40BR and think I have way too many and keep telling myself I'm going to take some back to the LFS. If you've noticed lots of snails dying you may want to seriously cut back on your crabs. They really don't help that much in the algae fight in my experience, esp. as they get older (they just "help" eliminate microfauna which is really not good) and you can always get nassarius snails to scavenge. How many and what kind of fish do you have?