Top Shelf Aquatics

Best size tank for my situation

realhiphop

Before starting up my reef tank, there are a few main concerns before starting up:

1. I go away to school, so at the end of the year I'll be moving everything back with me to my house

2. I'm a college student so money is somewhat limited

3. Space is limited

4. I want the option to do some nice aquascaping with some corals and fish, but I don't need the biggest nano-reef

What would you guys recommend as far as tank size, I was leaning towards a 20L, but now the more I think about it, it might be a little too big for my room. Now I'm beginning to consider a 10G. Maybe, a 20 H tank, or 15G ?what do you guys think?

NaNO ReeFiN

Considering you'll be moving this tank, it might be hard to transfer things in a large nano.. 10 gal. sounds good, how about a 7 gal. bowfront...

would it be possible to move things in a 20 gallon, or would it be too hard? Do you have a preference between a 20 H or 20 L?

NaNO ReeFiN

Well.. the larger the tank, the harder it'll probably be to take it all down and set it back up. We had a thread in the past about which would you want.. 20H or 20L? The forum was basically split 50/50, I chose the 20L though.

you probably would wan't to do like a 7 gallon. when it comes time to move, just fill a 5 gallon bucket with water from the tank, put the rock and corals in and the fish in the bucket or a seperated container. it would be a hell of alot easier than a 20 gallon.

what kind of a move are we talking about? my drive home from college was an overnight affair - hell of a road trip at that.

I have a 7 gallon and the thought of moving it when the baby is born is keeping me from adding anything (including a hang on refugium) until the wife and I decide where the tank will go.

Christopher Marks

Anything larger than 10 gallons is going to fairly difficult to move. With a 10 gal or less, you can just move everything into two 5 gallon buckets and you're good to go.