Innovative Marine Aquariums

[BC14]Troy's Journey

Troy.Roberts

Hello everyone,

This will be my first post on this forum. I've been reading this for about a month now and learned a tremendous amount of information. First lets start off with a little information about me. I'm originally from Panama City Florida and didn't leave there until I was nineteen years old. I joined the Air Force and was stationed in Germany for two years. I then got orders to good ole' SoCal. I've been at Edwards in the Antelope Valley since November of '09. I wanted a hobby and my major is Marine Biology. What better hobby than a Nano reef? Enough about me, lets get to this Biocube and my plans and setup for it.

First Ima upgrade the lights to Nano Customs 3.24 72W. I plan on cutting the excess plastic in chamber one to increase flow and throwing a Stealth PRO 75W heater in there and install the inTank Media Basket in chamber two. Typical media floss in the first basket, Chaeto in the second with a 4w JBJ Nano-Glo LED Fuge light, and the third I plan on Chemi-pure Elite. I'm going to upgrade the return pump to a Maxi Jet 900 powerhead and throw a JBJ Digital Temperature 2 Thermometer with 41" Probe in. I'm also gonna go with throwing in a Hydor Koralia Nano 240 inside the aquarium. Then proceed to attach a top-it-off kit from Premiumaquatics.com; plan on using RO/SeaChem Reef salt water and various SeaChem additives to keep all my levels to where they need to be. Carib-Sea ARAG-Alive Bahamas oolite (Ultra Fine) is the live sand I plan on using with some aqua-cultured live sand as well along with 13 pounds of Live Rock from Premiumaquatics.com I haven't ordered anything but the aquarium yet as to see if I need to change anything.

So I guess this is my startup and am not really planning on anything happening until around Mar-Apr of '11 timeframe but just want to make sure everything I'm planning on sounds good to people who know what's going on....

Everything sound coessential guys?