Pod Your Reef

Need Advice: 40B drilling, herbie, return

Deleted User 6

Deleted User 6

I just acquired a 40B and I would like to do a corner overflow with herbie-style drain and a back return.

I've briefly looked here: http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/index.php?...p;#entry2890605

My questions:

1. What size holes do I need for the drain and the backup?

2. What size hole for the return?

3. What pump recommendations? (I'll be running an MP40 for the main tank flow)

4. What plumbing parts do I need to pull this whole thing off and where's the best place to get them?

I'm a total noob with tank plumbing, so any help is appreciated.

• Replies 144
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I just acquired a 40B and I would like to do a corner overflow with herbie-style drain and a back return.

I've briefly looked here: http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/index.php?...p;#entry2890605

My questions:

1. What size holes do I need for the drain and the backup?

2. What size hole for the return?

3. What pump recommendations? (I'll be running an MP40 for the main tank flow)

4. What plumbing parts do I need to pull this whole thing off and where's the best place to get them?

I'm a total noob with tank plumbing, so any help is appreciated.

What size holes do I need for the drain and the backup?

1.) To start there is a relationship between drain size & flow rate. Flow rate is acheaved by the height of the water line above the drain, combined with the size of the drain. I.e. The more water & the larger the drain, the greater the flow.

2.) How much flow is wanted through the sump/fuge. There are great debates over what is the ideal flow, but a fuge needs a high dwell time for nutrient transfer. So maby, as much as it pains me to use the term, 5xthe size of the fuge for turn over. Flow can be met by powerheads. Simple sumps have no limitations on there flow behyond micro bubbles, heaters, & skimmer performance.