Pod Your Reef

First Post. Question/Idea

TinyGiant

I have been working at a pet store for almost 14 years now and have had a multitude of tanks over the years. Last year the wife and I were laid off so I took down all my tanks to save on the electricity. Working at the store again i've got the itch for another tank. I've never had a tank lit with LED so i figured I would give it a shot this time

The other day I ended up with a 5gallon tank and a couple new filters for free and figured i would start a little nano tank on the kitchen counter. :) I built a nice canopy and custom trim ring for the bottom for it last night to make it mesh with the cabinets a little better.

I had a ton of BLUE LED sitting around from a project i did in my car and figured I would throw those on there for kicks to use as lighting. I have 5 BLue (420nm) powered by a 10v sega genisis a/c adapter (lol ghetto .. I know) I used a sheet of acrylic to mount all the leds on (drilled holes and fed the terminals through the sheet and soldered and sealed everything up with clear caulking to water proof it. They look great but i think i want a want a little more brightness as i want to throw some zoos and possibly a couple SPS in there :)

I was reading a ton on this site the other day at work and figured i would try my hand at making a custom setup with the cree q5 lights.

Here is my question..(finally)

Looking on ebay I can order 230lumen Flashlights with the Cree Q5 bulbs and such for about $5 shipped.

this will include the nice outer housing, bulb and reflector (this model has the Q4 (230lumen max) in it)

ec03ac044e300373ff48b9c8c5abe9eb.jpg

I plan to then take it apart.. use the bell housing end with reflector and make a custom bracket. being that it runs off of about 3.6v or so I can easily find another gaming system a/c adapter to power and run the LEDs. as long as the ma rating can keep up :) and it will have a little driver already included for each bulb :)