Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Whats on my zoa rock and how bout this ricordea...pics

Genesis

What is growing on my small frag of zoas? Thought it might be a tunicate, but I am basically a newbie. Whatever it is, is it a threat to my zoas and if so what can I do?

This ricordea I received approx 2 mos ago with 5 other. The other 5 are variations of green and blue but this one came as gray (shipped to me as random colors), but has since turned more white. I kept it on the bottom of my tank until about a week ago and finally decided to move it up about midway, no change in color. It is in a 10 gal with 40 watt PC's???

Any and all advice greatly appreciated.

Genesis

post-48568-1270506068_thumb.jpg

post-48568-1270506087_thumb.jpg

The thing on your zoanthids is a sponge, and the ric is bleached from either too much light or stress. If the rest look the same and you've had them for a little while it's probably just stress, for some reason some rics just stress and bleach sometimes.

The thing on your zoanthids is a sponge, and the ric is bleached from either too much light or stress. If the rest look the same and you've had them for a little while it's probably just stress, for some reason some rics just stress and bleach sometimes.

I received 6 in total and the other 5 are fine, all shades of blue and green. Is there anything I can do for it? It definitely did not get too much light, bottom of my tank for approx 5 weeks under 40 watt pc's.

Usually if you let them just sit around for a few months they'll be fine, I wouldn't stress on it though.

That is great news. I knew it wasn't suppose to be that color, but I didn't think it was a goner. I have no problem waiting.

Thanks for the input.

Do sponges have those tube like things protruding out of them? If it is a sponge, will it kill off the zoa's? and is there anything I can do about it?

Thank you.