Innovative Marine Aquariums

Red leg hermit crab - molting?

Elvis

Hi there,

I have a new 5.5gal tank with two reg leg hermit crabs.

Both of them have not moved from the same spot for 3-4 days.

They are still alive, but not crawling around.

I know atleast one of them molted (I can see the shell).

Do you know if they stay inactive for a while after molting?

Just not sure if something else is wrong.

-Elvis

NaNO ReeFiN

Are they scarlet hermits...? I bought a couple of those and placed them in my tank and neither one moved for days as well. I just left them alone and eventually they started wandering around.

yeah its prolly just eating. once all the algae or whatever is gone in that spot, it will go graze somewhere else.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi,

I know I have zero reef experience... however, after crustaceans molt, there exoskeleton is not nearly as strong as it was before molting. It takes a while for it to build up a stronger exoskeleton. When this happens they tend to stay secluded until their skeleton gets stronger because they are far more vulnerable than they were before. Please correct me if I am wrong.

• 2 weeks later...

hey all... new here...

question 1: molting is different from changing shells how?

question 2: how long do hermit crabs keep one shell? for life? for a year? do i need to provide other, slightly larger shells in case they need to change?

thanks for all feedback!

-+vurt

• 2 weeks later...