Coral Vue Hydros

1 Gallon Reef Vase

KevinStan

I have been doing reef tanks for over 6 years. I recently have started liking the pico reefs more and started into creating some.... My inspiration to start this was from Brandon who holds two of the smallest successful reef tanks I have ever seen. One is the mini tank, the other is the reef bowl (Both can be seen on Youtube)

After many conversations with Brandon I have decided to start my own.

Aside from my other projects which include breeding amphipods, copepods, mini starfish, bristleworms, feeder shrimp, Opae-Ula, Mysid shrimp, and Rotifers.. along with Live Phytoplankton and creating my own line of marine foods.. I have now decided I am starting my own Reef Vase.

Though many have had their say and claimed it is impossible... it is actually very possible with the right care.

I am starting this thread to officially announce and introduce myself, and create a place for everyone to follow my progress with this.

This is the first of about 8 pico (Under 5 gallon) threads I will be posting on and allow people to follow along while answering as many questions as possible.

The current setup I have it on is not permanent. This is more of a temporary home for it that I have created to get it started. I will soon have it more "out and open" to view from all directions. This setup was really just to start it.

It has been running now for about a week... and since it is up and going, I figured I would start the thread.

Current Specs:

Regular Vase (About 2 gallons in size but off-set is only about a gallon after the sand and LR)

Air pump running a limewood airstone (Oceanic) For water circulation

About 3 lbs of LR

18" Coralife aqualight at 96w (May be too much but it keeps the temp. stable and seems to light it really well.)

1 snail and 1 crab to start taking care of some algae