Pod Your Reef

Aeridne's 10 Gallon

Aeridne

Hi, so i'm new to saltwater tanks and I thought it would be best for me to start a thread to track my progress. I've read a couple people's "journal" threads and I thought: wow what a really great idea.. so i'm following their example :) Hopefully if I make mistakes, the experiences of others on this forum will help me out!

OK, so I started with a 3 gallon jbj picotope. 6ish pounds live rock, 6ish pounds live sand, 9watt blue and white compact light that came with the tank kit and I bought an aquaclear 50 to mod into a small fuge. My sand came from my lfs' established reef tanks, and my rock from their rock selection. I'm hopeing that the nicely established and clean live sand will help my tank start up more smoothly, but this is much debated..

This is a long shot of my set up about 30 minutes after I got everything going:

IMG_0231.jpg

Close up of the tank after I started it:

IMG_0234.jpg

I found hitchhikers!!! I was pretty excited about it, actually. I have about four known brittle starfish. I really like watching them inch across my tank.. I also have some fan worms as well. I'm not too worried about any of these guys because they may provide nice scavanger-ing for my tank in the future.

IMG_0235.jpg

Finally, all the sand settled and my tank looks pretty good. I know I made a noob mistake of chooseing a main live rock that was too large, and it will not able me to do THAT much rearranging with corals later, but I like the shape anyhow.

IMG_0240.jpg

IMG_0241.jpg