inTank Media Baskets

Afraid of the unknown

iamborg

Hi all,

I just begin to cycle my SW nano 12G Cadlights AIO 2 days ago, and since then I have been

"terrified" and "excited" with my new aquarium.

Terrified because I dont know what is growing on the LR, or what is hiding in the pores of the LR.

How do I know that none of these is poisonous, or will any of them bite. For example, I found some

"coral" that moved. It moved from hole inside the LR to the top of the LR and attached itself there.

I literally see it packed up and moved. I posted the pick in the ID section and all I got was some sort

of aneomes. Is it good? or bad? Should i juice it?

There are probably many billions of creatures in the oceans, how do we know that we are not

introducing any strange creature to our home?

Excited because I am new to SW. I already captured 2 crabs, 1 mantis shrimp. I also saw a couple of

star fish which I left in the tank. There seems to be some "worm" that pops in and out of the rock,

and some "fan" shaped thing that contracts into the hole everything it senses movement.

Just some thought from a newbie SWer. Happy new year.

post-41322-1230926584_thumb.jpg

post-41322-1230926603_thumb.jpg

Don't panic! omgomgomg

Most hitchhikers are good, imo. Just post pics of things here and we can ID them for you.

Pic on the left looks like a zoa polyp and on the right.... not sure. What does it look like in the water?

Actually both are the same creature or coral.

Picture on the left is when it was packed and on the move and when I took it out of water, and the pic on the right, when it stopped and begin to open up in the water. When I shine a light at it, the "head" will move to the light.

They do make gloves for tanks if your really scared, I personally have to wear them because I have Plauqe Psorisis with open wounds on my hands.