Cultivated Reef

Can you help with my reef set up?

poidog

Hi everyone!

I am new to reefing and I was able to get a nano cube 24 gallon set up for x-mas. Since I'm new to salt water can you give your insights on how my current set up is?

With the Nano cube 24 i used:

1 - 20lb bag of live sand

32lb of Fiji live rock

19 gallons if water (pre mixed from the shop)

That equates to 1.68 lbs/gallon of live rock. From what I read I should be around 1.25-1.75 lbs. Is this too much in my tank? Also, how is the set-up? I would like to keep several coral/a few clowns/1 anemone/and some misc. fish/invertebrates.

Thanks for your help!

post-41150-1230433864_thumb.jpg

Hi everyone!

I am new to reefing and I was able to get a nano cube 24 gallon set up for x-mas. Since I'm new to salt water can you give your insights on how my current set up is?

32lb of Fiji live rock

That equates to 1.68 lbs/gallon of live rock. From what I read I should be around 1.25-1.75 lbs. Is this too much in my tank? Also, how is the set-up? I would like to keep several coral/a few clowns/1 anemone/and some misc. fish/invertebrates.

Thanks for your help!

:welcome:

Welcome to Nano-Reef!!!

Well everything look very nice so far ... lots of surface area for corals and such!!! :D

Definitely not too much rock for your tank ... it looks great ... don't worry about those calculations ...

What kind of lighting do you have there? Stock hood or modded?

As far as corals go softies and some LPS will do just fine ... anemone's require a more mautre system ... plus I really wouldn't recommend you putting one in a tank that small.

You are off to a great start! :D

Welcome again!

-David

Hi! thanks for the reply.