Innovative Marine Aquariums

please help, i am new.....

dart_king

hi there, i am new to this forum, i just registered 5 minutes ago.... i have been thinking of starting a nano reef, but i need your help on how to...

I am a complete newbie in saltwater tanks, i would be building an acrylic cube tanks, and that is all i know lol.

What else am i going to need? Can you give me a list of things i will need? (Ex..filter, heater, lights) Also average prices will be very helpful!

i would like to put a couple fish, and mayby shrimps, or mayby just have a couple puffer fish....

Any help is appretiated!

Thanks!

no puffer.

And WELCOME!

Take it slow.

Things you need to do first.

1. decide on what type of coral you would like to keep.

2. purchase or build tank with appropriate light to the coral you want to keep. ( you don't have to have a light during the curing process of your LR)

3. Obtain LR either cured or uncured (I like uncured) about 1lb per gallon.

4. Choose your salt brand.

5. Add RO water only into tank that is setup with heater and raise salt to 1.026

6. Wait a month.

7. During step #6 figure out the rest of your tank.

Oh and listen and heed the advice that is going to be listed below me.

:welcome: to NR.com

Honestly, you should read as much as you can before thinking about starting a reef tank. I researched for several months before starting my first tank and that was the best thing I've ever done.

ok like i said i am a complete newbie.... i do have an RO system, and i will do alot of reading can you direct me to a link? I dont know how to get around the forum yet....

burtbollinger

yep....all the above is dead on....read those articles until you have the facts memorized...

the key to everything is live rock....proper lighting, weekly water changes (IMO), and good water quality.....that and patience. rushing things and buying cheap stuff are the worst things you can do.