Cultivated Reef

A few questions

danwestington

danwestington

Hello! I'm new to the whole saltwater aquarium deal and to this site.

I have a couple questions:

1. What is the actual difference between PC, HO T5's, and MH lighting? is it purely a difference in wattage, or is there any other factors involved?

2. If i use the berlin system on a 20g tank (including a skimmer), would i even need to use a filter? and if so, what do i need to put in it?

wow...i could write a thread answering ur question but it would be so broad! i think u should do a lil more research into these topics. go to dr foster smith.com they have a great education site...its located at the bottom of theyre page.

but just a lil info on ur ques.

lighting, depends on the size of ur tank depth wise, and what types o corals u would like to keep.

pc's are a good beginners lighting, or good for lower level lighting, as they do not have the penetrating power of some of the other lighting. they also can get a lil hot.

t-5's are about the most used lighting besides mh. they have many options forlighting, bulb wise. u could come up with so many dif bulb combos with these. also, t-5s a pretty much only good if they have theyre own individual reflectors. they also run cooler. depending on ur setup they can be used for mainly all types of corals.

mh is the ultimate lighting. great colorations available. light penetration is awesome. great growth. but they do have theyre drawbacks. use a lot of power, and create lots of heat. these are high powered and coral placement is key if u have low light corals. sps corals love this lighting. plus uget that sweet shimmer effect!

theres so much ive left out, other people will prob comment on these.