Pod Your Reef

Should I be ablet to wiggle my bulkhead?

itzclayyo

Hey, just got a used tank and one of the bulkheads seems a little loose. All of the other bulkheads are solid in there. I can kinda wiggle this one though. It's for the return, the pipe is definately in the bh rock solid. So.. Should I worry about it??

Wiggle it how?

It really shouldn't be able to budge more than 1mm or so in either direction, if you're moving it sideways.

How did you tighten it? I usually tight by hand only, but as much as possible (i'm weak tho, lol) in that way.

Wiggle it how?

It really shouldn't be able to budge more than 1mm or so in either direction, if you're moving it sideways.

How did you tighten it? I usually tight by hand only, but as much as possible (i'm weak tho, lol) in that way.

Yea, just moving it by hand it moves at least a cm each way. I didn't tighten it yet, this is my first time using a built in overflow. I usually use hob. Is there any way to tighten it better? I tried by hand but that didn't work out to well, it kind of just twisted without tightening.

Sounds like the hole is bigger than it needs to be if you can move it a cm. I would pull the bulkhead right out and see how big that hole is. You may want to put a bigger bulkhead and return line in.

Wiggling ones bulkhead, should be done in the privacy of ones home...imo.

However, the application of 100% silicone to said bulkhead+glass, used as an adhesive assistant, should solve your problem and prevent any leakage...

best-o-luck

It's a dual oveflow tank (135g) mega overflow boxes.

I can take the pipe that goes inside of the tank out by hand easily. Both those pipes are for returns. The pipes inside the tank that drain water into the sump are in there without a problem.

The return pipes (inside of the overflow box) just seem to be pushed down into the bulkheads. Should I glue them down?