inTank Media Baskets

are metal halides and halogen lights the same???D

shadofax69

Ok I had a thought. Im a chemist so when I see metal halide I know it has some sort of halogen atoms in it. So since a metal halide has halogen in it, are metal halide and halogen lights the same. I know the spectrum emmited from the bulb is probably a little different but I wanted to know if regular halogen work lights you get from lowes would work for a light source for any reef aquarium.

They'd probably work for macroalgae and stuff but as you said the spectrum isn't designed to be what corals need and thus they don't really fare that well, they might grow but color, forget about it.

MrConclusion

No similarity between the two light sources.

Metal Halide lights, and HID (High Intensity Discharge) lights in general, generate an arc of electricity through a semiconductive reaction chamber. The power is not flowing through a light filament, it's passing through a mixture of metal and inert gasses. There's not much of either because the reaction chamber is near vaccuum. The gasses support and influence the elctrical arc - different metals & different inert gasses create different colored light. The output can be extremely fine tuned to desired spectra. Consider the efficient but unsightly yellow of a sodium-vapor street light compared to the icy blue-white of a xenon HID headlight on a luxury car.

"Halogen" lights are just high-class incandescents. There's a solid tungsten filament that's glowing from heat, because it's very thin and you're pouring electricity through it. The inert halogen gasses surrounding the filament prevent it form burning up. If any oxygen gets in, as when a bulb cracks, it glows very bright for an instant before the filament burns out.