SaltCritters.com

Yup a new tank very very nice

Louie3

So I got my rebate for my TV and laptop and decided to buy a AIO set up from nanocustoms.com

This is what I purchased.

2007 Nanocustoms NanoCube 12 - NC1.70 (70w HQI) WITH 10K Ushio bulb

2x18w PC actininc lights

NC 3.1 Fuge light

iCA nano chiller

and a Saphire NC12 skimmer

so what do you guys think? Was the skimmer a good buy? does the chiller do well?

any other up grades that you guys can think of please tell me

-Louie-

Wow that sounds like an impressive setup. I've read some really good reviews for the skimmer, and you can never go wrong with metal halide lighting! I have no experience with the chiller but if nanocustoms is selling it as an option it's probably quite effective. Definitely keep us posted with some pics!

The chiller is alright... don't expect anything fantastic from it. It's generally enough to slow your tank from heating up... not prevent it.

It was sufficient when I had 4.24 lighting in my 12g nanocube, but once I upgraded to the 1.70 HQI + 36w PC Actinics, it wasnt enough any more. Like I said, it definitely slowed down the speed that the tank temp increased, but didnt prevent it.

If the ambient temperature around the aquarium stays below 80, you should be able to maintain a decent temp of around 80 with the ICA.

Once I upgraded from the 1.70 to a 1.150 (first one nanotuners has ever done in a 12g) the ICA chiller was basically useless. I'm now running a 1/15 arctica chiller which has absolutely no trouble keeping the tank at 78... even with the 150w HQI and occasional ambient temps of 88+.

I noticed you got a fuge light AND the skimmer... which chamber are you planning on using for the skimmer, and which chamber are you going to use for a fuge? I only ask because I couldnt fit both in mine... it was either a fuge or the skimmer.