Top Shelf Aquatics

PFL15's DIY Canopy

ProFlatlander15

ProFlatlander15

Ok, so I've been contemplating a new lighting system for a while now, and finally got the balls to start. It will be the same dual 150W Halides that are over my 29G now, but instead of PCs, it will be running T5s for actinic. It is my first time working with metal, so be nice.

The backboone of the structure. Some stock aluminum I had laying around.

mhrackmetalvc2.jpg

Closeup of how it is hagning in there. I used mostly rivets on the project. The other side is identical.

mhcloseupzs3.jpg

A bracket that will sit on the T5 reflector rack to support the MH backbone. You'll see!

mhrachbracketto5.jpg

The T5 reflector setup. Notice the brackets where the MHs will sit.

t5rackwbracketcn3.jpg

T5 structure

t5racknh9.jpg

Basics all together from the top.

closeuptoppj0.jpg

Basics all together from the bottom.

closeupbottomza8.jpg

The guts.

bottomnoelectriceu1.jpg

T5 ballast installed.

topnoelectricej7.jpg

T5s wired, fans wired (minus the fans, they will be arriving from NewEgg shortly). You can see the AC adapter I plugged in there for the fans. The T5s and the fans will be wired from the same hot wire. The MHs will be separate.

closeupwiresyb0.jpg

Sheet aluminum cut to size... It's starting to come together...

lightingcutoutsqx4.jpg

Cover made of the same sheet. Since it is .02" thick, it is easy to bend and arcs nicely. I actually cut it with a razor blade and bent it by scribing it with a razor blade. I know there are better ways, but thats all I had around.

covertw3.jpg

As far as I have gotten. 80% of the wiring is done, I am waiting on the fans and I have to do the MH wiring, but most of the rest is done.

bottomcoveronfj3.jpg