SaltCritters.com

***Fish/Invert Recommendations for 12G Orca***

Fish4life

Hi there!

I have had a Orca 12G Tl-450 set up for three weeks now after previously being a freshwater cichlid lover. I have already introduced a few corals and fish, but would like to increase the amounts (not by much) in order to get the most out of the tank. Has anyone got any suggestions of inverts and fish that they would recommend?

This is what I have atm -

Tank - Fiji LR, Crushed coral

Corals - GSP, Pulsing Coral

Fish - Yellow tailed damsel, 2 Clown fish (false perculas)

CleanUpCrew - 1 Mithrax Crab

As I am new to the nano world guidance would be extremely welcomed.

Water parameters are perfect btw, although the hardness is very high.

Thanks.

ReadyReefer

First tip, make sure you do regular maintenance on the CC it can become a detritus tram

Second, how much LR do you have, 1-2 lbs is usually considered minimum

Third, hardy corals, try mushrooms or rics, very hardy and beautiful to boot. Also if your lighting is fairly high you might try zoos, very colourful

Fourth, I am not familiar with the Orca system so I am not sure how much swimming space the fish have. If for any reason, nitrates or anything else spikes, you might want to get rid of a fish and also that yellow-tip might become aggressive so watch out

fifth, for your CUC add some snails. Most people have had luck with astreas, nassarius, nerites, etc

Anyway good luck and overall it seems to be a good start

First tip, ditch the CC, it will screw with your nitrates by becoming a detritus trap, swap for arag-alive or caribsea

fifth, for your CUC add some hermits or snails. I am partial to margarita snails personally and I also have a hermit in my 10 gallon. Others have also had luck with turbos, nerites, astreas etc.