Sand, water, then liverock, or what?

Noonan

Hey Guys..

Im just curious to what you do. I have been keeping marine tanks for about 10 years, just curious to what the order everyone else does.

I add live sand, then live rock, and then water. I know many people who fill it with water, get the temperature and salinity right and then start to add LR and water. I think its kind of stupid though, since the displacement means your going to have to take water out.

Discuss..

Well, you don't have to add water to the brim since there will be the displacement factor.

Generally, people with nano tanks don't have huge holding tanks to store the saltwater before they go on to purchase the rocks, sand etc. Well, I'm one of those.

For me, the setup procedure is... mix salt in the tank, let it sit for a few days with a powerhead running. Then rocks, then sand...

Hey Guys..

Im just curious to what you do. I have been keeping marine tanks for about 10 years, just curious to what the order everyone else does.

I add live sand, then live rock, and then water. I know many people who fill it with water, get the temperature and salinity right and then start to add LR and water. I think its kind of stupid though, since the displacement means your going to have to take water out.

Discuss..

I do water first so I can use the pumps to mix the salt for me, then siphon out a few inches of water into a bucket before adding sand, then rock. I don't mind taking the water out - it only involves all of a few deep breaths and a well-placed hose.

Seems easier than mixing several 5g buckets to pour in. That, and you don't have to worry about that odd splash off the liverock hitting you in the face :happy:

soundtweequor