Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Live Rock in a Biocube 8

whofeelsitknowsit

whofeelsitknowsit

Hello all,

I am new to the sport, but I feel like I have already learned a ton just from reading your posts on this forum. I got a new biocube 8g on ebay last week ($129 with free shipping!), and I set it up over the weekend. I made the standard modifications that I've been reading about -- heater and lr in chamber 1, lr and chaeto in chamber 2 (I still need to set up the fuge light, though), maxi-jet 600 with hydor-flo in chamber 3.

My question is this: Conventional wisdom seems to be that you put 1.25-1.5 pounds of live rock per gallon. Is that right? I put 11 pounds in the tank, and it seems to have taken up the entire tank. There is not much room for anything else...

Just wanted to see what others have to say about how much live rock to put in there. I'll post some pics when I get home from work.

Oh, and thanks to everyone on this forum for inspiring me to start my own nano reef!

It is if you plan to put large corals, such as a brain or plate, or larger zoanthid colonies. If you stick to small frags, you'll be okay.

My personal preference would be to take some out.

fw2sw-wannabe

I put in 11.5# in my 10 gallon AGA. I wanted to put in 15#, to have 1.5#/gallon, but my LFS thought it might be too much. They were right, for a change!

Here's my tank a month after set-up, to give you an idea.

FTS.jpg

I think it depends on the density of the rock. Atlantic rock has fewer crannies and weighs more for it's size. Fiji rock is more porous and hence less dense.

I still wonder about swimming room for my fish, once I get them. :scarry: You may be wondering the same! I vote for you to take out a piece, or bust some up and put it in one of your back chambers, if there's room.

I vote for you to take out a piece, or bust some up and put it in one of your back chambers, if there's room.