Cultivated Reef

Aquapod Nano or DIY?

stiltman

Hello all,

I have been keeping freshwater fish for more than 15 years (on and off). I am planning on starting my first saltwater tank.

In my research I have singled out the Aquapod 24g with 150w MH lighting. In searching around through some of these forums I have often seen the comment posted "aquapods suck".

http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Product/Prod...mp;N=2004+62760

I have an empty 30 gallon "Perfecto" sitting around.

I'm leaning towards purchasing the Aquapod because I think it would look nicer (less wires and gadgets hanging off the tank). Also, I won't have to go through upgrading this old freshwater tank.

I plan on starting as live rock and fish at first. With my goal of having a nice reef tank when I get some experience under my belt.

Does Aquapod "suck"?

Thanks

masterbuilder

Oh Boy.... check out the Nanocube 28 HQi thread. You will get a lot of differing opinions. Some people (like me) like them for the way they look. Others are strongly opposed to the "all n ones" and have many valid points. My highly modded nanocube serves me perfectly. I will say that the people that are the most opposed to the all-n-one's have never owned one, so keep that in mind. Also, the resale value thing has popped up lately…. no used aquarium has any value, all-n-one or not. How many people do you know that have sold an aquarium for anything but pennys on the dollar? It’s a mute point.