Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Water change questions

lenglish

Hello,

I am very new to reefkeeping. I have an 8 gallon Biocube with 10.55 Gallons of Live rock, live sand and so far 1 Clove Polyp, 1 True Perc ,Yellow watchman Goby and a cleaner crew.

So when I do water changes, Some of the live rock is exposed to air. Is this ok? Do you guys expose your corals and rock to air for a short time?

Thanks!

As long as they don't dry out, it should be OK. Some sponges don't do too well when exposed to air, but AFAIK, everything else should be fine for short periods.

How do you fit 10.55 gallons into a 8 gallon cube?

Yes sorry, it's pounds of live rock. Thanks for your help! Much appreciated.

Any ideas on how to make the true perc happier? She won't eat and just hangs out by the vent. How can I make her feel more at home?

mascencerro

Find out what kind of music it likes? :)

Depending on how long you've had it, it takes a little while for most fish to get accustomed to their new home before they get comfy.

Well, by 7:00 this morning the Perc was gone. Don't have a clue why, she must've just been sick. I got a six line wrasse, doing great so far as I can tell.

Thanks for your help.

Well, by 7:00 this morning the Perc was gone. Don't have a clue why, she must've just been sick. I got a six line wrasse, doing great so far as I can tell.

Thanks for your help.

I'm sorry you lost it but I"m suprised you ran out and got something else so fast. I'd want to know what went wrong before trying it with another fish. Peramiters? Temps? Acclimation method?

I mean, yeah sometimes you get a sick fish but odd's are that something you did along the way didn't help.

Hope this one works out for you.

The Tank is 3 weeks old, used cured rock and waited, added a cleaning crew 2 weeks ago.

Ammonia is 0, Nitrites 0, Nitrates 10-15.