Coral Vue Hydros

Dusky Jawfish

kkyyllee

From everything I have read, caring for duskys is exactly the same as caring for a pearly jawfish. Assuming you have a decent substrate (minimum 2.5"), you can keep a jawfish in a pretty small tank, though I wouldn't go much smaller than 12 gallons.

Having kept a jaw in my 24 gallon for the last year, I have this observation, however: they are tricky when it comes to compatability in such a small tank. Anything that is the least bit aggressive will stress the jaw out. Conversely, anything that is too small might mysteriously disappear from the tank (jaws have very big mouths).

In the end, my jaw has basically done best with inverts.

I have no experience keeping jawfish but they are one of my favorite types of fish so I have read a lot about them. They are reputed to be major carpet surfers, so I would not risk one in a open top setup.

I would not stock anything with them in a tank under 30 gallon.

^ Actually I take that back...my royal gramma was peaceful with the jaw :) Just make sure you add the jawfish at least 3 days before putting any other fish in (so they have a burrow made and they feel comfortable)

Dont forget to provide a MINIMUM of 3" oolitic sand with lots of rubble (shells, coral rubble, small rocks etc) so they can make a good burrow. Remember they secrete a mucus like substance that can bond rocks and sand together to make their burrow!

My favorite fish by far :)

Finally, always leave the lights off for the first day or two so they can start construction :P

Conversely, anything that is too small might mysteriously disappear from the tank (jaws have very big mouths).

Sexy shrimp are definately a $$$ mistake...but cleaners and other larger shrimp will be fine :)

would it be ok if i had 2 inches of sand and gave it some crushed coral or something to build with in one spot?

oh and its going in a AP 12 with closed top so that wont be an issue

oh and what will i have to feed it? or how sohould i?