ReefCleaners.org

New Xenia Frag hasn't opened... tips?

Poonagi

So 2 days ago I got a freshly cut stalk of xenia. i got it home and wedged it between two rocks in my tank. at that time it had obviously really closed up and was tiny. since then it hasn't really opened up... well maybe slightly but it's still all shriveled up and tiny.

checked water params - all good

flow seems to be average at that spot

no animals are bothering it (no fish yet in tank)

light is standard 12G aquapod (2x27w i think)

any ideas or tips? should i just be patient? this is my first frag i stuck in the tank so, total noob here. thanks for your help.

and just to confirm i didn't screw this part of it up. i took the stalk and put it between two pieces of rubble. i pushed the two pieces together so that the base fit in there "snug". not too tight to squish it, but not loose enough so that the xenia would float away. is that suitable? or should i consider another option?

alexmurovec

most people like to glue their frags with super glue, but make sure its the GEL form. theres lots of forums on it, you could easily find one with a simple search.

as for the frag opening, i dont have any experience with corals yet as my tank is still cycling.

One Eyed Bunny

Xenia sp. attach to most anything fairly quickly. I've clipped mine and within 12 hrs. I've had it attached to a plug or piece of rubble. "Squishing" it between two rocks will probably work. I wouldn't worry about it not opening right away, the acclimation and transport periods sometimes stress them out. It'll come around.

My biggest suggest is that once it attaches to a rock, isolate that rock. Xenia sp. spreads rather rapidly and grows in the direction of the greatest flow, typically. So if you don't want it taking over your tank like hair algae I would suggest placing it either high in your tank or in an isolated area.