Cultivated Reef

considering a 29g Oceanic Biocube

audi99a4

Let me start by saying that I'm new to salt-water tanks...my g/f is the one considering the task. I currently have a 55g cichlid tank, a 29g fry grow out tank, and a 10g quarantine.

We're considering the 29g Oceanic Biocube. I've been researching for the past few days and I'm looking to find some good advice.

I know the kit comes with compact flourescent lamps, will this suffice for a coral tank? Is it advisable to upgrade...and if so, what's suggested (Metal Halide...etc.)? And also, are their upgrades that would fit seemlessly with the tank kit?

Will the kit's wet/dry filtration be ideal for a coral set-up? If not, what type of upgrades are available/suggested...(refugium....etc)?

Will I need additional powerheads, protein skimmer...etc.?

I'm looking to get started within the next month or 2 and figure it'll be another few months before I get the tank established.

I was thinking the tank would have live rock, coral, a few critters(shrimp, etc.) and maybe a small fish or 2.

Any and all suggestions would be greatly appreciated....and yes I am reading through all the resources available on this forum and many others.

Thanks

reefman5511

I've heard there is a problem maintaining the proper water level with the Biocubes so you might want to consider another make like the Aquapod, JBJ or Red Sea Max if you have the $$$.

Take a look at www.nanotuners.com They have all sorts of upgrades for all the different cubes.

I currently have 2 -12 gal cubes (JBJ & Aquapod). The filters are adequate. Might want to consider removing the bioballs & using LR rubble instead. Bioballs will lead to nitrate problems down the road.

Sapphire makes a skimmer to fit in one of the back compartments.

Good luck!

I've heard there is a problem maintaining the proper water level with the Biocubes so you might want to consider another make like the Aquapod, JBJ or Red Sea Max if you have the $$$.