Top Shelf Aquatics

Sump/Fuge design

S.I.C.

This is my first attempt at designing a sump/fuge. Some of the dimensions are not exact at this point. I can go higher as needed from your feedback. I need to work out the media trays and skimmer depth once I get the skimmer in hand.

What do you think? Good, bad or indifferent I want to hear it all.

Project1.jpg

Attachment for clear viewing.

Thanks!

Project_1.pdf

This is my first attempt at designing a sump/fuge. Some of the dimensions are not exact at this point. I can go higher as needed from your feedback. I need to work out the media trays and skimmer depth once I get the skimmer in hand.

What do you think? Good, bad or indifferent I want to hear it all.

Project1.jpg

Attachment for clear viewing.

Thanks!

39 views and no comments.

Anybody...?

I went bad to the drawing board and came up with this and is more complete.

The water enters the media tray flows down over the LR and up the skimmer area and then overflows into the fuge. I did not use a baffle between the skimmer area and the fuge, because I want to maximixe the fuge media area and am working with tight constraints. Any reasons why this is an absolute MUST? Then the water flows to the sump area and pumps out.

I am thinking about lowering the height of the fuge. Seems a little tall, what do you think?

I attached the file because some of the lines did not come out right when I used photobucket.

THING_REV_1.pdf

I think I am just a retard because I still don't get it.

I highly doubt it, I am sure its me :D

I'll post pics when it's operational.

Anybody else before I pull the trigger?

hmmm.

I get it but had a questions, won't bubbles be a problem from the skimmer to the refugium chamber....and the refugium is suppose to be low flow. The way you have it set up, the refugium would be receiving whatever the flow of your downpipes. I guess this wouldn't be a problem if your uptake pump wasn't that strong.

hmmm.