Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

yellow splotches on leather

yotman

I've kept saltwater fish since the late 80s, but I'm a total newb with corals, which I'm trying in a 8 gallon biocube. Nothing fancy -- just beginner stuff.

I've got a leather that been doing fine for a couple months, but in the last couple days, it has started developing yellow splotches. Where the splotches are, it won't open. Not sure what this is or what to do about it, if anything.

post-3687-1175729835_thumb.jpg

Basic water parameters are:

amonia 0 ppm

nitrate 0 ppm

nitrite .5 ppm

sg 1.0235 (may have been slightly higher when this started)

My torch, star polyps and zoas seem happy. Only the leather is an unhappy camper.

the splotches can be either simple dermal discoloration or a bacterial/viral issue dermal or subdermal.

if they're simply discoloration sometimes the issues can develop with a new addition, change in flow patterns, irritation from a tankmate, or simply a piece of detritus fell on it and laid there too long. try adjusting your flow pattern to give the area a little more flow. direct flow onto the coral isn't something i'd recommend, indirect flow that's intermittent is best imo.

if they're infections of some sort, they look dermal to me in that picture, i.e. less serious. subdermal tend to be darker and produce softening of the tissue area. interestingly enough, these can also be triggered by the same issues noted above. for instance, i've seen neighboring-coral stings result in "infections".

try lightly scraping one of the spots and cleaning off anything you scrape off by siphoning it out immediately/right upon scraping. i would also dose some lugol's iodine or kent marine's tech I as an antiseptic additive at this point. don't exceed the recommended dosages though.

nice specimen btw. any other pics?